DORNER Order Entry in the Munich Leukaemia Laboratory

The Munich Leukaemia Laboratory is an international leader in leukaemia diagnostics. To make it as easy as possible for their senders to navigate through the complex spectrum of examinations, they use our DORNER Order Entry.

Christian Pohlkamp, MD, Internist, Haematology and Oncology & Head of Cytomorphology, reveals why in this video:

More than 70% of all medical diagnoses are based on laboratory results. These analyses are still largely requested on handwritten paper forms. A comparatively time-consuming and error-prone process.

Dr. Christian Pohlkamp: With conventionally sent orders, patient identification is often difficult. Or the technical information is simply so incomplete that we can't start the full diagnostic process, but have to make another phone call afterwards. It seems a bit anachronistic to still work like that in an age like today. That's why I think that digital order entry will be the only alternative in the medium term.

Why is it important for the MLL to use the DORNER Order Entry?

Dr Christian Pohlkamp: The Munich leukaemia laboratory is a leading international provider of leukaemia diagnostics. So we have a very strong position especially on the German market, i.e. a large part of the outpatient and inpatient haematological providers send samples to us for the diagnosis of leukaemia and similar diseases. And we are also an innovation driver, I say confidently, i.e. we attach great importance to digitalisation and automation in our laboratory, both in terms of robotics and the implementation of e.g. machine learning methods for the various diagnostic areas. That's what we're committed to.

What do your senders get out of it?

Dr. Christian Pohlkamp: A fundamental problem is of course the complexity of leukaemia diagnostics today, which is not decreasing, but will continuously increase over the next few years. In such a diagnostic jungle, it is becoming more and more difficult for the sender, who may also have to treat mammary carcinomas and intestinal tumours at the same time, to find his way around. That is why we are grateful that the Order Entry System on the one hand offers great assistance, if only in the selection of methods and in sifting through this jungle of methods. Based on their level of knowledge, the entrants can request assistance individually. On the other hand, it naturally makes our work easier if the orders arrive with a higher degree of precision and correct content.

Why did you choose our DORNER Order Entry?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: Leukaemia examinations will become more and more complex in the coming years. Our range of examinations will also be continuously oriented to this and will become more complex and granular. And of course we are very grateful that we have a very flexible partner in DORNER, who always strives to implement state-of-the-art diagnostics in our order entry system in a timely manner and to make the necessary adjustments, while at the same time making the system easier and more intuitive to use. For example, we are currently working on one-stop-shop packages that enable the sender to order a complex range of examinations with one or two clicks, adapted to the respective suspected diagnosis, without having to navigate for minutes through the complex selection of methods and parameters.

Why can't you just keep requesting as you always have?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: The portals are of decisive importance for us and I think in the medium term at least also for our senders, because it is foreseeable that in medicine, as well as in all other areas of daily life, digitalisation is becoming more and more prevalent. Ultimately, the question is: How long can I continue to do without an order entry portal or a digital findings portal? In other words, how long will it still be possible to order samples and call up findings in the conventional, analogue way, be it technically or in terms of data protection? In this respect, I think that in the long run, there is no getting around the use of such portals.

Advantages of the DORNER Order Entry

Why do you actually need a digital laboratory portal? Or to put it another way: What are the advantages of using our DORNER Order Entry?

Read More

scan2rendering

scan2 - Product innovation at the DMEA

More patient safety with bedside scanning device from DORNER.

Read More

Thumbnail_Collaboration

Cooperation in medical billing - DORNER and MLL

The demands on our IT solutions usually do not stop with the successful installation.

Read More

Digitisation Thumbnail

Digitalisation in the health sector

As a developer of software solutions for the healthcare sector, we have had our finger on the pulse of digitalisation for 40 years.

Read More

GfH Annual Conference 2022

We cordially invite you to the 32nd Annual Meeting of the Society for Human Genetics!

Read More

Privacy - Thumbnail

Data protection - Are DORNER portals secure?

Data protection enjoys a very high priority, especially for all medical data.

Read More

BZ article

BZ: 40 years of digitisation with DORNER

On the occasion of our 40th anniversary, the Badische Zeitung reported about us and our deep roots in the region.

Read More

Thumbnail video interview

Corona vs. competitive sports

What impact do the measures around COVID have on competitive sport? What is the connection between sporting activity and a supposed course of the disease?

Read More

Medical billing DORNER Billing in MLL

More than 100,000 examinations per year billed with our DORNER Billing.

Read More

Thumbnail Workflow Engine at the Charité

DORNER Workflow Engine at the Charité Berlin

The Institute for Sports Medicine uses our i/med Sport in the entire outpatient workflow. One of many DORNER Workflow Engine solutions!

Read More

DORNER Order Entry im MLL

Das Münchner Leukämielabor ist ein international führender Anbieter für Leukämiediagnostik. Um es ihren Einsendern so einfach wie möglich zu machen, durch das komplexe Untersuchungsspektrum zu navigieren, nutzen sie unser DORNER Order Entry.
Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp, Internist, Hämatologie und Onkologie & Leitung des Bereiches Zytomorphologie, verrät in diesem Video warum:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Mehr als 70% aller medizinischen Diagnosen basieren auf Laborergebnissen. Diese Analysen werden immer noch größtenteils auf handschriftlich ausgefüllten Papierbögen angefordert. Ein vergleichsweise aufwendiger und fehleranfälliger Prozess.

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: Bei den konventionell übersandten Aufträgen ist häufig schon die Patientenidentifizierung schwierig. Oder die fachlichen Angaben sind einfach so unvollständig, dass wir die Diagnostik nicht in vollem Umfang ansetzen können, sondern noch mal hinterher telefonieren müssen. Das wirkt doch etwas anachronistisch, in einer Zeit wie der heutigen, noch so zu arbeiten. Daher denke ich, dass die digitale Auftragseingabe mittelfristig alternativlos sein wird.

Warum ist es dem MLL wichtig das DORNER Order Entry zu nutzen?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: Das Münchner Leukämielabor ist ein international führender Anbieter für Leukämiediagnostik. Wir haben also speziell auf dem deutschen Markt eine sehr starke Position, d.h. ein Großteil der ambulanten und stationären hämatologischen Versorger schickt Proben zu uns für die Diagnostik von Leukämien und ähnlichen Erkrankungen. Und wir sind auch ein Innovationstreiber, sage ich mal selbstbewusst, d.h. wir legen sehr großen Wert auf die Digitalisierung und Automatisierung in unserem Labor, sowohl was Robotik angeht, als auch die Implementierung von z.B. Machine Learning Methoden für die verschiedenen diagnostischen Bereiche. Das haben wir uns auf die Fahnen geschrieben.

Was haben Ihre Einsender davon?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: Ein grundsätzliches Problem ist natürlich die Komplexität der Leukämiediagnostik heutzutage und die nimmt nicht ab, sondern wird in den nächsten Jahren kontinuierlich immer mehr zunehmen. In so einem diagnostischen Dschungel findet sich der Einsender, der nebenher womöglich noch Mammakarzinome und Darmtumore behandeln muss, immer schwieriger zu recht. Deswegen sind wir dankbar, dass das Order Entry System einerseits eine große Hilfestellung, schon allein bei der Methodenauswahl und beim Durchforsten dieses Methodendschungels, bietet. Der Einsender kann basierend auf seinem Kenntnisstand, Hilfestellungen individuell für sich anfordern. Andererseits erleichtert es uns natürlich die Arbeit, wenn die Aufträge schon mit einer höheren Präzision und inhaltlich korrekter bei uns eintreffen.

Warum haben Sie sich für unser DORNER Order Entry entschieden?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: Leukämieuntersuchungen werden in den nächsten Jahren immer komplexer werden. Daran wird sich auch unser Untersuchungsspektrum kontinuierlich orientieren und komplexer und granulierter werden. Und da sind wir natürlich sehr dankbar, dass wir mit der Firma DORNER einen sehr flexiblen Partner haben, der immer danach strebt auch die state-of-the-art Diagnostik zeitnah in unser Order Entry System zu implementieren und entsprechende Anpassungen vorzunehmen, gleichzeitig aber auch die Bedienung immer einfacher und noch intuitiver zu gestalten. So sind zum Beispiel momentan One-Stop-Shop-Pakete in Arbeit, die es dem Einsender ermöglichen mit ein oder zwei Klicks ein komplexes Untersuchungsspektrum, angepasst an die jeweilige Verdachtsdiagnose, zu beauftragen, ohne sich minutenlang durch die komplexe Methoden- und Parameterauswahl navigieren zu müssen.

Warum kann man nicht einfach weiter so anfordern wie immer?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: Die Portale haben für uns eine entscheidende Bedeutung und ich denke mittelfristig zumindest auch für unsere Einsender, weil es absehbar ist, dass im Medizinwesen, sowie in allen anderen Bereichen des täglichen Lebens, die Digitalisierung immer mehr Einzug hält. Letztendlich ist ja die Frage: Wie lange kann ich noch auf ein Order Entry Portal oder ein digitales Befundportal überhaupt verzichten? Das heißt, wie lange werden Probenaufträge und Befundabrufe auf herkömmlichem, analogem Wege noch möglich sein, sei es jetzt technisch oder datenschutzrechtlich. Insofern kommt man, denke ich, auf Dauer gar nicht um die Nutzung solcher Portale herum.

DORNER Newsletter

Verpassen Sie keine Neuigkeiten mehr und melden Sie sich für den DORNER Newsletter an. Hier werden Sie regelmäßig über unsere Software und Lösungen informiert.

Unsere Softwarelösungen

Leistungsfähige Laborinformationssysteme (LIS / LIMS), Managementinformations- und Abrechnungssysteme (KBV-zertifiziert), Tools für Statistik, Projekt- und Ressourcenplanung bis hin zur elektronischen Auftragsübermittlung (Order Entry), elektronische Patientenakte (EPA) und ein webbasiertes Patientenportal sind nur einige Beispiele für DORNER-Anwendungen.

Unsere Branchenlösungen

Medizinische Labore in ihren verschiedensten Facetten (Routinelabore, Zentrallabore, niedergelassene Labore bis hin zu Speziallaboren) gehören seit Unternehmensbeginn zu unserer Hauptexpertise. Mittlerweile umfasst unser Portfolio auch Lösungen für Branchen wie die Rechtsmedizin, Humangenetik, Sportmedizin u.v.m.

DORNER auf LinkedIn

Verpassen Sie keine Meldung mehr!